Skip to content ↓

Learning in Reception

The new EYFS framework has been implemented in September 2021. Schools could choose to adopt the revised framework as early as September 2020 on a voluntary basis. Leesons choose to adopt this from September 2020 and were known as an Early Adopter School.


Why is the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum changing?

The government says the changes will improve outcomes for all children, but particularly the language and literacy outcomes for disadvantaged children and reduce teacher workload.


What is the statutory framework for EYFS?

 The Statutory framework for the EYFS sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. 


What does the EYFS Curriculum consist of?

The framework sets out the three prime areas of learning that underpin everything in the early years:

• Communication and Language

• Physical Development

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The four specific areas help children to strengthen and apply the prime areas:

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the World

• Expressive Arts and Design

All of those areas of learning are connected together. The characteristics of effective teaching and learning weave through them all. That’s because children in the early years are becoming more powerful learners and thinkers. These characteristics develop as they learn to do new things, acquire new skills, develop socially and emotionally, and become better communicators.

There is a Reception Baseline Assessment which takes place at the start of the year to allow us to see where we need to go next with the children's learning.  More information about this can be found in the leaflet at the bottom of the page.